Office of Broadband and Connectivity

JOHN BEL EDWARDS Governor

State of Louisiana

Division of Administration

JAY DARDENNE
Commissioner of
Administration



Broadband for Everyone in Louisiana Commission Meeting

9:30am – 11:00am, June 23, 2022 Claiborne Building 1201 N 3rd St, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

MEEETING MINUTES	
AGENDA ITEM	DISCUSSION
WELCOME REMARKS	Monique Boulet, CEO of the Acadiana Planning Commission and BEL Commission Chairwoman, welcomed attendees and gave a brief introduction to the meeting.
COMMITTEE INTRODUCTIONS	Introductions were held amongst committee members and guests.
UPDATES FROM CONNECT LA	Veneeth Iyengar, executive director for the state of Louisiana's broadband efforts (also known as ConnectLa), provided updates on the following topics: • LA State Broadband Grant Program (GUMBO) • Broadband Legislative Updates • BEAD and Digital Equity Plan • Statewide Planning Process
COMMITTEE DISCUSSION AND FEEDBACK	General discussion about statewide broadband activities was held between meeting attendees.
PUBLIC COMMENT	There was no public comment.
ATTENDANCE RECORD	
ATTENDEES	 Committee Members in Attendance Janet Britton, LA Telecommunications Association (LTA) Patrick Witty, Designee of the Secretary of Louisiana Economic Development Matthew Wood, Designee of Labor Nominated by the AFL-CIO Daryl Deshotel, Designee of the Chairman of Louisiana Legislative Rural Caucus Monique Boulet, APC, BEL Commission Chairwoman Chad Winchester, Designee of LA Dept. Transportation & Development Lauren Chauvin (Proxy for Kristine Lagasse, Internet & Television Association (LCTA)) Richard Howze, Designee of Commissioner of Administration Brandon Frey, Public Service Commission Robby Miller, LA Police Jury Association Daryn Bovard (Proxy for Jody R. Montelaro, Electrical Utility Representative) Duane Cowart (Proxy for April Brumfield, Cellular Telecommunications & Internet Association) Ava Dejoie, Representative of Louisiana Workforce Commission)

- 14. Sen. Beth Mizell, Designee of the Senate President
- 15. Earl Thornton, Designee of the Commissioner of Agriculture
- 16. Rep. Christopher Turner, Designee of the Chairman of Louisiana Legislative Rural Caucus

Others Present

- 1. Glen Howie, ConnectLa
- 2. Veneeth lyengar, ConnectLa
- 3. Susannah Craig, Louisiana Board of Regents
- 4. Rebecca Kelly, Louisiana Board of Regents
- 5. Rhett Covington LA Department of Corrections
- 6. Dr. Anna Osland, Kathleen Babineaux Blanco Public Policy Center
- 7. Dr. Stephen Barnes, Kathleen Babineaux Blanco Public Policy Center
- **8.** Kade Jones, APC